Archaeology of Light

Date 28.09.2021
Text Hillary Sanctuary
Photo LASTRO / EPFL
"Archaeology of Light" is a fully immersive, short movie that charts out a visit through the expanse of cosmological and astrophysical data. Enjoy the ride through this virtual universe, starting from the great blue planet we call home.

With the release of VIRUP comes a short movie entitled “Archaeology of Light”, one possible journey through the virtual universe made possible thanks to the open software.

The 20 minute movie starts from Earth, and charts out a voyage throughout the various scales of the universe, from our solar system, to the Milky Way, all the way to the cosmic web and the relic light of the Big Bang.

"Archaeology of Light" in 4K.

Released by EPFL’s Laboratory of Astrophysics on YouTube, the movie is available in 2D, in stereo 180° and in 360°.

"Archaeology of Light" in 4K.
Watch the 2D version of "Archaeology of Light" on YouTube.

For an immersive experience developed at EPFL’s Laboratory of Experimental Museology, the movie is to be showcased in a dome at EPFL’s next exhibit, Cosmos Archaeology: Explorations in Space and Time, which opens on 21 April 2022 at EPFL Pavilions. A  preliminary version of the movie was shown at the Synra Dome of the Science Museum of Tokyo in September, thanks to support from the Swiss Embassy in Tokyo.  It will be presented at an exhibit in Dubai in October 2021, as part of EPFL’s Virtual Space Tour.

 

Watch "Archaeology of Light" in VR180.
Watch "Archaeology of Light" in VR180.

Watch "Archaeology of Light" in 360°.
Watch "Archaeology of Light" in 360°.

Watch the "Archaeology of Light" trailer.
Watch the "Archaeology of Light" trailer.

Archaeology of Light

Date 28.09.2021
Texte Hillary Sanctuary
Photo LASTRO / EPFL
"Archaeology of Light" est un court métrage immersif qui retrace une visite à travers l'étendue des données cosmologiques et astrophysiques. Voyagez à travers cet univers virtuel, à partir de la planète bleue que nous appelons la Terre.

Un court métrage accompagne la sortie de VIRUP. Intitulé « Archaeology of Light », il fait la démonstration d’un périple à travers l’univers virtuel.

Depuis la Terre le film déroule un voyage de 20 minutes à travers les diverses échelles de l’Univers, du système solaire à la Voie lactée, jusqu’à la toile cosmique et aux lumières reliques du Big Bang.

Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".

 Le film est disponible en 2D, en stéréo 180° et en 360°, sur  la chaîne YouTube du Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de l’EPFL

 

Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".
Watch the 2D version of "Archaeology of Light" on YouTube.

Pour faire l’expérience de VIRUP dans un dôme, un système immersif en développement au laboratoire de muséologie expérimentale de l’EPFL, il vous faudra patienter jusqu’à la prochaine exposition de l’EPFL, Cosmos Archaeology: Explorations in Space and Time, qui s’ouvrira le 21 avril 2022 à EPFL Pavilions. Le spectacle a lieu en ce moment au dôme Synra du Musée de la science de Tokyo, et se tiendra à Dubai en octobre prochain dans le cadre du EPFL’s Virtual Space Tour.

Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en VR180.
Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en VR180.

Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en 360°.
Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en 360°.

Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".
Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".