Explore the most detailed map of the universe

Date 12.10.2021
Text Hillary Sanctuary
Photo Alain Herzog / EPFL
Have you ever wanted to explore outer-space? Now you can, without leaving Earth, thanks to powerful, open-source beta software VIRUP that builds – in real-time – a virtual universe based on the most detailed contemporary astrophysical and cosmological data.

You’re floating in space, just above the Earth. The International Space Station is an arm’s length away. You twist your head around only to see the moon, a tiny circle, far off in the distance. You can’t help but think that this is probably what an astronaut would see during a space-walk.

This is the beginning of a journey into outer-space, in a virtual environment developed by EPFL scientists.

Now, for the very first time, you can enter the most comprehensive virtual universe based on the latest astrophysical and cosmological data, thanks to powerful, open-source software developed at EPFL’s Laboratory of Astrophysics (LASTRO). The software is called VIRUP, for Virtual Reality Universe Project, and a first beta version is being released today.

“You can navigate through the most detailed map of the universe from the comfort of your own home,” explains Jean-Paul Kneib, director of LASTRO. “It’s the chance to travel through space, through time, and discover the universe.”

Dans ce dossier
  • Archaeology of Light
  • Data visualisation for the universe

Watch as the scientists explain the importance of data exploration thanks to big data visualization.
Watch as the scientists explain the importance of data exploration thanks to big data visualization.
(From left to right) Florian Cabot, Sarah Kenderdine, Yves Revaz and Jean-Paul Kneib, under a dome representation of the Universe.  Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.
(From left to right) Florian Cabot, Sarah Kenderdine, Yves Revaz and Jean-Paul Kneib, under a dome representation of the Universe. Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

The VIRUP challenge : visualizing terabytes of data at once

Astronomers and astrophysicists are collecting data about billions of celestial objects in the night sky with the help of telescopes here on Earth and in space. There are already decades of observational data. Even greater amounts of data are expected in the near future.

In order to get visual representations of the vast amounts of data, like a movie, it’s standard practice to pre-render specific sequences. But what about creating a visual representation of the data in real-time, as if you were there, an observer at an arbitrary point in space and time? This is what astrophysicist Yves Revaz of LASTRO set out to do with the VIRUP, with the help of LASTRO software engineer Florian Cabot, and it meant rendering terabytes of data at 90 frames per second. The latter constraint is imposed by the virtual reality environment, for a fully immersive and smooth experience.

(From left to right) Florian Cabot, Sarah Kenderdine, Yves Revaz and Jean-Paul Kneib, under a dome representation of the Universe. Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

“It’s the chance to travel through space, through time, and discover the universe.”

– Jean-Paul Kneib.

Flexible immersive virtual environment

For the fully immersive, 3D, 360 experience, you’d need a pair of VR glasses and a computer for running the VIRUP engine, plus lots of storage space for the terabytes of astrophysical and cosmological data.

VIRUP is also capable of building a virtual universe in other VR environments, like a dome which is especially useful for venues like planetariums, panaromas, caves and half-caves. The open-software’s transition from the rather personal and isolated experience of VR goggles to the collective, theatrical experience offered by domes and caves, became possible thanks to a collaboration between LASTRO scientists and researchers at EPFL’s Laboratory for Experimental Museology (eM+), and funded by EPFL seed funding for fostering interdisciplinary projects.

“It’s about data discovery. The immersive system means that you can embody the data which has a profound effect on how you actually perceive the data,” says artist Sarah Kenderdine who leads eM+.

“It’s about data discovery.”

– Sarah Kenderdine

Archaeology of Light

Photo LASTRO / EPFL
"Archaeology of Light" is a fully immersive, short movie that charts out a visit through the expanse of cosmological and astrophysical data. Enjoy the ride through this virtual universe, starting from the great blue planet we call home.

With the release of VIRUP comes a short movie entitled “Archaeology of Light”, one possible journey through the virtual universe made possible thanks to the open software.

The 20 minute movie starts from Earth, and charts out a voyage throughout the various scales of the universe, from our solar system, to the Milky Way, all the way to the cosmic web and the relic light of the Big Bang.

"Archaeology of Light" in 4K.

Released by EPFL’s Laboratory of Astrophysics on YouTube, the movie is available in 2D, in stereo 180° and in 360°.

"Archaeology of Light" in 4K.
Watch the 2D version of "Archaeology of Light" on YouTube.

For an immersive experience developed at EPFL’s Laboratory of Experimental Museology, the movie is to be showcased in a dome at EPFL’s next exhibit, Cosmos Archaeology: Explorations in Space and Time, which opens on 21 April 2022 at EPFL Pavilions. A  preliminary version of the movie was shown at the Synra Dome of the Science Museum of Tokyo in September, thanks to support from the Swiss Embassy in Tokyo.  It will be presented at an exhibit in Dubai in October 2021, as part of EPFL’s Virtual Space Tour.

 

Watch "Archaeology of Light" in VR180.
Watch "Archaeology of Light" in VR180.

Watch "Archaeology of Light" in 360°.
Watch "Archaeology of Light" in 360°.

Watch the "Archaeology of Light" trailer.
Watch the "Archaeology of Light" trailer.

Data visualisation for the universe

An exercise in data visualisation, VIRUP is a new graphics engine designed to read astrophysical and cosmological data, including simulations.

“Visualization of astrophysical data is much more accessible than showing graphs and figures, it helps to develop intuition of complex phenomena,” explains Revaz. “VIRUP is precisely a way of making all of our astrophysical data accessible to everyone, and this will become even more important as we build bigger telescopes like the Square Kilometer Array that will generate tremendous amounts of data.”

VIRUP can already visualise data from over 8 databases bundled together. The Sloan Digital Sky Survey consists of over 50 million galaxies and 300 million objects in general. The Gaia data of the Milky Way Galaxy consists of 1.5 billion light sources. The Planck mission involves a satellite which measures the universe’s first light after the Big Bang called the cosmic microwave background radiation. There’s also the Open Exoplanet Catalog which aggregates various sources of exoplanet data. Other databases include a repertoire of over 3000 satellites orbiting the Earth, as well as various skins and textures to render the objects.

Yves Revaz, standing in front of an immersive installation of the virtual Universe. Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

Yves Revaz exploring a 3D interactive installation of the virtual universe. Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

 

VIRUP also renders data sets of contemporary and scientifically robust simulations based on research.  You can watch the Milky Way Galaxy and its future collision with the Andromeda galaxy, our galactic neighbor also known as M31. You can also see huge portions of the cosmic web – the filamentary large-scale structures that extend across the universe – coming into existence over billions of years, based on simulations from a data set called IllustrisTNG which consists of 30 billion simulated particles. A major challenge is ensuring smooth transition from one database to the next.

“We considered using existing graphics engines for visualizing the data, but in the end, I developed one specifically for the project. It’s flexible, we can add more data as it becomes available, and it’s tailored to astronomy,” explains Cabot. “For this first release of VIRUP, I have focused on rendering static data, so interacting with the data is still a bit rough and the rendering of simulations can’t yet happen in real-time for example.”

Of course, it’s only possible to navigate through the data and simulations imported into VIRUP. You can visit the 4500 discovered exoplanets so far, for instance, but the way they look are artist impressions inferred from observation. You can also navigate through the 50 million galaxies measured so far by the Sloan Digital Sky Survey, but the actual data has limited resolution and this limits how much detail can be shown in its virtual representation. That being said, there is still a tremendous amount of data that can be explored with the help of VIRUP. Some of the next steps could be to include databases of objects in our solar system like all of the asteroids, or various other objects in the galaxy like nebulae and pulsars.

Yves Revaz exploring a 3D interactive installation of the virtual universe. Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

“Visualization of astrophysical data is much more accessible than showing graphs and figures.”

– Yves Revaz.

Explorez l’Univers en réalité virtuelle

Date 12.10.2021
Texte Hillary Sanctuary
Photo Alain Herzog / EPFL
Envie de voyage dans les confins de l’Espace ? C’est désormais possible sans quitter la Terre avec le puissant logiciel open source VIRUP, qui construit en temps réel un Univers virtuel basé sur les données cosmologiques et astrophysiques contemporaines les plus détaillées.

 

Vous flottez dans l’Espace, juste au-dessus de la Terre. La Station spatiale internationale est à portée de bras. Vous tournez la tête, ne voyez que la Lune, un petit cercle perdu dans le lointain. Vous ne pouvez vous empêcher de penser que c’est probablement ce qu’un astronaute percevrait pendant une sortie extra-véhiculaire.

C’est le début d’un voyage spatial dans l’environnement virtuel des scientifiques de l’EPFL.

Pour la première fois, vous pouvez pénétrer l’Univers virtuel le plus complet, basé sur les données astrophysiques et cosmologiques les plus récentes, grâce au puissant logiciel open source du Laboratoire d’astrophysique (LASTRO) de l’EPFL. Appelé VIRUP, pour « VIRtual Universe Project », il est disponible dès aujourd’hui en version beta.

« Vous pouvez naviguer sur la carte la plus détaillée de l’Univers, confortablement installé à la maison, explique Jean-Paul Kneib, directeur du LASTRO. C’est une occasion de voyager à travers l’espace et le temps, et de découvrir l’Espace. »

Dans ce dossier
  • Archaeology of Light
  • Simulations et données astrophysiques et cosmologiques

Les scientifiques expliquent l'importance de l'exploration des données grâce au Big Data.
Les scientifiques expliquent l'importance de l'exploration des données grâce au Big Data.
(De gauche à droite:) Florian Cabot, Sarah Kenderdine, Yves Revaz et Jean-Paul Kneib, sous une projection de l'univers virtuel dans un dôme.  Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.
(De gauche à droite:) Florian Cabot, Sarah Kenderdine, Yves Revaz et Jean-Paul Kneib, sous une projection de l'univers virtuel dans un dôme. Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

Le défi VIRUP : visualiser des teraoctets de données en simultané

Les astronomes et les astrophysiciens collectent des données sur des milliards d’objets célestes, dans le ciel nocturne, avec des télescopes sur Terre et dans l’Espace. Nous avons cumulé des décennies d’observation. Prochainement, on s’attend à recevoir de plus grandes quantités de données encore.

Pour convertir de grandes quantités de données en représentations visuelles, comme dans un film, on produit généralement des séquences spécifiques à l’avance. Mais peut-on générer une représentation en temps réel, comme si l’on se trouvait en tant qu’observateur à un point quelconque de l’espace et du temps ? Avec VIRUP, c’est ce qu’a entrepris de faire Yves Revaz, astrophysicien au LASTRO, secondé par l’ingénieur informaticien Florian Cabot. Il s’agit de générer 90 images par seconde, avec des teraoctets de données. Cette contrainte répond aux exigences de l’environnement de réalité virtuelle, pour fournir une expérience fluide et immersive.

(De gauche à droite:) Florian Cabot, Sarah Kenderdine, Yves Revaz et Jean-Paul Kneib, sous une projection de l'univers virtuel dans un dôme. Photo credit: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

“C’est une occasion de voyager à travers l’espace et le temps, et de découvrir l’Espace..”

– Jean-Paul Kneib.

Un environnement flexible et immersif

Pour une expérience totalement immersive, en 3D et à 360 degrés, vous aurez besoin d’un casque de réalité virtuelle et d’un ordinateur pour lancer le moteur de VIRUP, ainsi que d’un large espace de stockage pour les teraoctets de données astrophysiques et cosmologiques.

VIRUP peut aussi générer des univers virtuels dans d’autres environnements, comme un dôme pour des sites physiques tels que des planétariums, ainsi que des caves et demi-caves. De l’expérience plutôt personnelle et solitaire des casques de réalité virtuelle, jusqu’à celle plus collective et théâtrale des dômes et des caves, la transition est rendue possible grâce à une collaboration entre le LASTRO et le Laboratoire de muséologie expérimentale de l’EPFL (eM+), financée par un fonds de démarrage de l’EPFL pour favoriser les projets interdisciplinaires.

« Avec ce système immersif, vous pouvez incarner les données, ce qui a de profondes répercussions sur la manière dont vous les percevez », commente Sarah Kenderdine, artiste et directrice de eM+.

“Vous pouvez incarner les données. »

– Sarah Kenderdine

Archaeology of Light

Photo LASTRO / EPFL
"Archaeology of Light" est un court métrage immersif qui retrace une visite à travers l'étendue des données cosmologiques et astrophysiques. Voyagez à travers cet univers virtuel, à partir de la planète bleue que nous appelons la Terre.

Un court métrage accompagne la sortie de VIRUP. Intitulé « Archaeology of Light », il fait la démonstration d’un périple à travers l’univers virtuel.

Depuis la Terre le film déroule un voyage de 20 minutes à travers les diverses échelles de l’Univers, du système solaire à la Voie lactée, jusqu’à la toile cosmique et aux lumières reliques du Big Bang.

Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".

 Le film est disponible en 2D, en stéréo 180° et en 360°, sur  la chaîne YouTube du Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de l’EPFL

 

Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".
Watch the 2D version of "Archaeology of Light" on YouTube.

Pour faire l’expérience de VIRUP dans un dôme, un système immersif en développement au laboratoire de muséologie expérimentale de l’EPFL, il vous faudra patienter jusqu’à la prochaine exposition de l’EPFL, Cosmos Archaeology: Explorations in Space and Time, qui s’ouvrira le 21 avril 2022 à EPFL Pavilions. Le spectacle a lieu en ce moment au dôme Synra du Musée de la science de Tokyo, et se tiendra à Dubai en octobre prochain dans le cadre du EPFL’s Virtual Space Tour.

Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en VR180.
Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en VR180.

Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en 360°.
Regardez "Archaeology of Light" en 360°.

Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".
Regardez le trailer de "Archaeology of Light".

Simulations et données astrophysiques et cosmologiques

Photo LASTRO / EPFL
Une exercice de visualisation de données, VIRUP est un nouveau moteur graphique conçu pour lire les données astrophysiques et cosmologiques, y compris les simulations.

« La visualisation des données astrophysiques est bien plus accessible que les graphiques et les chiffres. Elle contribue à développer notre intuition de ces phénomènes complexes, explique Yves Revaz. VIRUP peut justement rendre l’ensemble de ces données astrophysiques accessibles à tous. Cela deviendra de plus en plus important, alors que nous construisons des télescopes plus imposants encore, comme le Square Kilometer Array, qui vont générer d’énormes quantités de données. »

Pour l’heure, VIRUP peut déjà visualiser les données issues de huit banques. Le Sloan Digital Sky Survey comprend plus de 50 millions de galaxies et 300 millions d’objets en général. Les données de Gaia contiennent plus de 1,5 milliard de sources lumineuses dans la Voie lactée. La Mission Planck déploie un satellite qui mesure les premières lumières après le Big Bang, désignées sous le terme de fond diffus cosmologique. Notons également le Open Exoplanet Catalog, qui agrège diverses sources de données sur les exoplanètes. D’autres banques incluent un répertoire d’environ 3000 satellites en orbite terrestre, ainsi que des textures pour représenter les objets.

Yves Revaz, devant une installation immersive de l’univers virtuel.  Photo: Alain Herzog / EPFL.

Yves Revaz navigue dans une installation interactive de l'univers virtuel. Photo : Alain Herzog / EPFL.

 

VIRUP génère aussi des répertoires de données contemporains et de robustes simulations scientifiques. On peut contempler la future collision de notre Voie lactée avec Andromède, la galaxie voisine également connue sous le nom de M31. On peut aussi voir d’énormes portions de la toile cosmique — les structures filamentaires à grande échelle qui s’étendent au travers de l’Univers — et leur formation pendant des milliards d’années, grâce aux simulations tirées d’un répertoire appelé IllustrisTNG, qui consiste en 30 milliards de particules simulées. L’un des défis principaux est d’assurer une transition fluide entre les diverses banques de données.

 

« Nous pensions utiliser des moteurs graphiques pour visualiser les données, mais en fin de compte, j’ai dû en développer un spécialement pour ce projet. Il est flexible, on peut ajouter les données à mesure qu’elles deviennent disponibles, et il est taillé sur mesure pour l’astronomie, explique Florian Cabot. Pour cette première version de VIRUP, j’ai mis l’accent sur la visualisation des données statiques. L’interaction avec les données est encore un peu rustique. On ne peut pas encore voir les simulations en temps réel, par exemple. »

 

Bien sûr, il n’est possible de naviguer qu’à travers les données et simulations importées dans VIRUP. Par exemple, on peut visiter les 4500 exoplanètes découvertes à ce jour, mais leur apparence résulte d’une interprétation artistique, dérivée des observations. On peut aussi se promener à travers les quelque 50 millions de galaxies mesurées par le Sloan Digital Sky Survey, mais les données réelles fournissent une résolution limitée. Cela restreint la quantité de détails des représentations virtuelles. Cela dit, il reste encore un énorme volume de données que l’on pourrait explorer avec VIRUP. Les prochaines étapes prévoient l’inclusion de banques d’objets appartenant au système solaire, tels que des astéroïdes, ainsi que divers objets galactiques comme des nébuleuses et des pulsars.

 

Yves Revaz navigue dans une installation interactive de l'univers virtuel. Photo : Alain Herzog / EPFL.

“Visualization of astrophysical data is much more accessible than showing graphs and figures. »

– Yves Revaz.