Scientists unlock the secrets of glacier-fed streams, from Greenland to Switzerland

Date 01.04.2021
Text Julie Haffner
Source EPFL
Photo The field team climbs to the Dart Glacier near Wanaka, New Zealand © SBER Laboratory/EPFL
ENAC - School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Stream Biofilm and Ecosystem Research Laboratory (SBER)
EPFL scientists have been busy over the past two years collecting and analyzing samples from streams fed by the world’s biggest glaciers. We spoke with some of the researchers on the project about their globe-trotting adventure.

The field scientists working on the Vanishing Glaciers project, supported by The NOMIS Foundation, aren’t afraid of heights. They climb to the icy peaks of mountain ranges from the Himalayas to the Alps, equipped with vials, pipettes, thermometers and liquid-nitrogen cylinders (which they’ve nicknamed Dido and Fido). Their goal is to collect samples of the microorganisms living in glacier-fed streams and bring them back to EPFL for analysis by their colleagues.

Take a glimpse inside the world of the researchers involved in the Vanishing Glaciers project.

“We need to act now, before it’s too late”

As the world’s glaciers disappear, they are taking with them well-kept secrets. Glacial melting is one of the most visible signs of climate change and will eventually cause glacier-fed streams to dry up – destroying an important, unique ecosystem.

Scientists at EPFL’s Stream Biofilm and Ecosystem Research Laboratory (SBER) are working hard to learn those secrets before it’s too late. “These streams drain the roof of our planet,” says Tom Battin, head of SBER and the project’s lead scientist. “While we know that the planet’s biogeochemical cycles are generally orchestrated by microorganisms, we don’t yet understand the exact role of microorganisms living at high altitudes. So it’s essential that we study their ecosystems and map out what the consequences would be if they disappeared.”

Take a glimpse inside the world of the researchers involved in the Vanishing Glaciers project.

“It’s essential that we study the ecosystems of the glacier-fed streams and map out what the consequences would be if they disappeared” – Tom Battin, head of SBER and the project’s lead scientist © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Sampling the invisible

Out in the field, biofilms are the only visible evidence of the microorganisms populating glacier-fed streams – even though they’re there by the billions. Biofilms are the thin, greenish-looking, viscous layers that cover the streams’ rocks. In Arolla, in the canton of Valais, Martina Schön, a field technician working on the project, scrapes biofilm samples from a rock she spotted and carefully places them in her backpack for later analysis.

Meanwhile, fellow field technician Matteo Tolosano collects sediment samples. “We divided up the sampling work so that we can progress more quickly. But it’s an odd task because we’re sampling something that’s basically invisible,” he says. Nearby, Vincent De Staercke stands in the middle of a stream to perform another type of field work – measuring the oxygen concentration of the water where samples were collected, using sensors and fiber-optic cables connected to a computer. “It’s the only live data we have on the microorganisms,” says De Staercke. “If the oxygen concentration drops, that means bacteria are present because they’re breathing it in.”

Other members of the project team are responsible for collecting samples of glacier run-off water and analyzing its nutrients and ion concentrations. This will give an indication of what conditions are needed for bacteria populations to live and grow. Mike Styllas, an expedition leader, explains: “Bacteria are like us – they want to eat! But in these waters there’s not a lot of choice on the menu.”

In addition to studying microbial life, the research team is also looking closely at the surrounding environment. “We’re trying to get a detailed snapshot of the ambient conditions,” says Schön. “One way to do this is by taking measurements of variables like water temperature, oxygen concentration, carbon dioxide level and pH.”

Mike Styllas – Chef d’expédition
“Bacteria are like us – they want to eat!” – Mike Styllas, expedition leader © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

 

The field team during their expedition to Arolla in Switzerland: Martina Schön, Vincent de Staercke, Matteo Tolosano and Mike Styllas © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Paraskevi Pramateftaki, technical specialist, analyses the samples in the laboratory © Alain Herzog/EPFL

From mountain peaks to the research lab

So far, the team has collected water and sediment samples from over 100 glacier-fed streams in New Zealand, Russia, Greenland, Ecuador, Scandinavia and the Alps. These samples are now being analyzed at SBER. Hannes Peter, a scientist at SBER, explains: “These samples are exceptional due to the extreme conditions they came from. One of the first steps we had to take in this project, and one of the most important, was to design our testing protocols for optimal efficiency so that we can perform all the analyses we want to.”

The SBER scientists also divided up their work for maximum effectiveness. One group is studying microbial ecology, that is, the microorganisms’ role in their habitat and community and how they behave. “We look at factors related to the biomass, which is the amount of living organisms in our samples,” says Peter. “For instance, we measure chlorophyll a concentrations – an indicator of algae – count the number of bacteria cells, and conduct experiments on bacteria production.”

Tyler Kohler, a postdoc at SBER, is in charge of measuring extracellular enzymes, which, he says, “are great because they let us read the bacteria’s minds.” These enzymes, also called exoenzymes, are produced by bacteria when a compound they need – like carbon or nitrogen – is found in their surroundings. “Studying exoenzymes gives us an idea of what helps the bacteria grow and reproduce,” says Kohler.

At the same time, other SBER scientists are sequencing and analyzing the DNA found in the samples. They are using metagenomics to sequence the genomes of several different species living in the same environment, and to answer crucial questions like: What’s there? Why? How? “Our analyses will tell us exactly how diverse the microbial community is in our samples and let us identify the genomes of some of those microorganisms, regardless of what community they’re in,” says Paraskevi Pramateftaki, a technical expert.

Paraskevi Pramateftaki, technical specialist, analyses the samples in the laboratory © Alain Herzog/EPFL

“Enzymes are great because they let us read the bacteria’s minds” – Tyler Kohler, postdoc at SBER © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

New-Zealand expedition © Laboratoire SBER/EPFL

Samples, tell us everything

The wealth of data generated in this project will provide important insight into the strategies microbes have adopted to survive under such extreme conditions. This study marks the first time that biogeochemical information about glacier-fed streams is being combined with data on the structure and function of the microorganisms living in those streams.

What have the scientists discovered so far? First, that there is a vast and varied amount of microbial life in the streams. “Just one teaspoon of sediment can contain up to a million bacteria cells and hundreds of microbial species,” says Battin.

Second, that pretty much the same groups and species of microorganisms can be found regardless of where the samples are taken. This indicates that the microorganisms have adapted perfectly to their environments.

And last but not least, that because the microorganisms have very little capacity to evolve under such extreme conditions, they have undergone microevolution. Battin explains: “Microevolution has created a highly specific kind of microdiversity that is found only in these bacteria populations. And since the glacier environment is changing, the risk is that the microevolution process – and microdiversity – will disappear, taking with it some of the planet’s biodiversity on a larger scale.”

New-Zealand expedition © Laboratoire SBER/EPFL

Vincent De Staercke and Matteo Tolosano analyze some samples they brought back from their expeditions. © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Valsorey © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Understanding the invisible

The Vanishing Glaciers project has, like the rest of the planet, been affected by the pandemic, but the scientists still hope to carry out their planned expeditions to Nepal, Central Asia, the Andes and Alaska. In the meantime, they are still crunching the data from samples already collected. “Our goal is to be able to unlock the secrets of microbial life in glacier-fed streams within the next few years, and to predict how the streams and their microbiomes will change as the world’s glaciers vanish,” says Battin. “In other words, we want to better understand the invisible.”

Valsorey © Jamani Caillet/EPFL
Scroll Up

Du Groenland à la Suisse, les eaux des glaciers livrent leurs secrets

Date 01.04.2021
Texte Julie Haffner
Source EPFL
Photo L'équipe de terrain grimpe vers le glacier Dart près de Wanaka en Nouvelle-Zélande © Laboratoire SBER/EPFL
ENAC - Faculté de l’environnement naturel, architectural et construit
Laboratoire de recherche en biofilms et écosystèmes fluviaux (SBER)
Depuis deux ans, des équipes de l’EPFL échantillonnent et analysent les micro-organismes présents dans les ruisseaux des plus importants glaciers du monde. Récit d’une aventure scientifique qu’il est encore temps de vivre.

Équipés de fioles, de pipettes, de thermomètres ou encore de bidons d’azote liquide (Dido et Fido, de leurs petits noms), les «scientifiques de terrain» du projet Vanishing Glaciers, soutenu par la Fondation NOMIS, grimpent sur les sommets glacés des quatre coins du monde. Dans l’Himalaya ou les Alpes, leur mission reste la même: récolter les micro-organismes présents dans les ruisseaux alimentés par les glaciers pour les ramener à l’EPFL, où leurs collègues les analyseront.

Découvrez l'univers des chercheurs impliqués dans le projet "Vanishing Glaciers".

«Faisons-le avant qu’il ne soit trop tard!»

Au fur et à mesure que les glaciers s’épuisent, ils emportent avec eux des secrets bien gardés. Leur fonte, symbole visible du changement climatique, implique à terme la disparition des ruisseaux qu’ils alimentent et par conséquent la perte d’un écosystème unique.

Les scientifiques du Laboratoire de recherche en biofilms et écosystèmes fluviaux (SBER) ne veulent en aucun cas perdre cet héritage sans l’avoir exploité. «Ces ruisseaux drainent les toits du monde», avance Tom Battin, directeur du SBER et directeur scientifique du projet. «Nous savons que les micro-organismes en général orchestrent les cycles biogéochimiques globaux de notre planète, mais nous ne comprenons pas les contributions de ces microbes de haute altitude pour ces cycles. Il est donc crucial de mieux connaitre ces écosystèmes afin de comprendre quel serait l’impact de leur disparition sur notre planète».

Découvrez l'univers des chercheurs impliqués dans le projet "Vanishing Glaciers".

« Il est crucial de mieux connaitre ces écosystème afin de comprendre quel serait l’impact de leur disparition sur notre planète. » – Tom Battin, directeur du SBER et directeur scientifique de Vanishing Glaciers © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Échantillonner l’invisible

Sur le terrain, les biofilms sont la seule preuve visible de la présence de micro-organismes, qui y cohabitent par milliards. Ces minces couches de micro-organismes adhèrent aux pierres des ruisseaux et se distinguent à leur aspect verdâtre et visqueux. A Arolla dans le Valais, Martina Schön, technicienne de terrain, en repère quelques-uns et part gratter la roche pour ramener un peu de cette substance dans ses valises.

«Pour être plus efficace, chacun de nous prend en main une partie du travail de terrain», explique Matteo Tolosano. «C’est bizarre, parce qu’on travaille avec quelque chose d’invisible». Le technicien de terrai échantillonne les sédiments pendant que son collègue Vincent De Staercke, également technicien de terrain, a les pieds dans l’eau pour s’occuper de son «expérience à lui». Il mesure la concentration en oxygène dans les échantillons récoltés grâce à des capteurs et des fibres optiques reliés à un ordinateur. «C’est la seule information sur les micro-organismes qu’on possède un temps réel», s’enthousiasme le chercheur. «Si la courbe descend, cela signifie qu’il y a des bactéries qui respirent et donc de la vie».

 

Les scientifiques prélèvent aussi l’eau qui s’écoule du glacier. Elle indique, entre autres, quels nutriments sont présents ou encore quelle est la concentration en ions. L’idée est de savoir ce qui permet aux micro-organismes de vivre et de se développer. Mike Styllas, chef d’expédition, illustre: «Ils sont comme nous, ils veulent manger. Et il n’y a pas beaucoup de choix au menu de leur restaurant!»

L’équipe ne se concentre pas seulement sur cette vie microbienne, mais aussi sur l’environnement. «Nous cherchons à avoir une photographie détaillée de ce qui nous entoure, explique Martina Schön. Nous recueillons certains paramètres physico-physiques tels que la concentration en oxygène et en CO2 dans l’eau ou la température de l’eau et son pH».

« Les micro-organismes sont comme nous… Ils veulent manger! » – Mike Styllas – Chef d’expédition © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

L’équipe de terrain à Arolla: Martina Schön, Vincent de Staercke, Matteo Tolosano et Mike Styllas © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Paraskevi Pramateftaki, spécialiste technique, analyse les échantillons au sein du laboratoire © Alain Herzog/EPFL

Des sommets du monde au laboratoire

A ce jour, les échantillons de plus d’une centaine de glaciers sont arrivés jusqu’au campus de l’EPFL. Ils sont originaires de Nouvelle-Zélande, Russie, Groenland, Équateur, Scandinavie et Alpes. Au laboratoire, les chercheurs s’activent à faire parler les sédiments et l’eau qu’ils ont entre les mains. «Ce matériel est très spécifique du fait de l’environnement extrême duquel il provient, explique Hannes Peter, scientifique au SBER. Une des premières étapes pour nous, et l’une des plus conséquentes, a donc été d’optimiser nos protocoles pour toutes les analyses que nous souhaitions faire»

Au sein du laboratoire, les scientifiques se sont partagé le travail. Une partie de l’équipe s’intéresse principalement à l’écologie microbienne: la place et le rôle de ces micro-organismes au sein de leur habitat et au sein même de leur communauté, ainsi que leur comportement. «Nous regardons un certain nombre de paramètres liés à la biomasse, la quantité d’organismes vivants dans ces échantillons. Par exemple, nous mesurons la quantité de chlorophylle a, indicateur de la présence d’algues, nous comptons le nombre de cellules bactériennes et nous menons des expériences de production bactérienne», détaille le chercheur.

Postdoctorant au SBER, Tyler Kohler est chargé de mesurer l’activité des enzymes extracellulaires qui, selon lui, «nous aident à lire dans les pensées des bactéries». Les exoenzymes sont créées par les bactéries s’il y a quelque chose dans l’environnement dont elles ont vraiment besoin, par exemple du carbone ou du nitrogène. «En regardant ceci, on peut avoir une idée de ce qui les aide à se développer et à se reproduire.»

Pendant ce temps, d’autres membres de l’équipe séquencent et analysent l’ADN contenu dans les échantillons. Ils utilisent pour cela la métagénomique qui permet de séquencer les génomes de plusieurs individus d’espèces différentes dans un même milieu et donc de répondre aux questions cruciales: Qui est là ? Pourquoi ? Comment? «D’une part, nous voulons révéler la diversité de la communauté microbienne de nos échantillons et, d’autre part, dévoiler le génome de certains micro-organismes, indépendamment de leur communauté», explique Paraskevi Pramateftaki, spécialiste technique.

Paraskevi Pramateftaki, spécialiste technique, analyse les échantillons au sein du laboratoire © Alain Herzog/EPFL

« Les enzymes sont géniales car elles nous aident à lire dans les pensées des bactéries » – Tyler Kohler, postdoctorant au SBER © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Expédition en Nouvelle-Zélande © Laboratoire SBER/EPFL

Échantillons, dites-nous tout

Grâce à la quantité d’informations récoltées, les chercheurs en sauront plus sur les stratégies écologiques que les microbes ont développées au fil du temps afin de survivre dans ces conditions extrêmes. C’est la première fois que le lien entre biogéochimie des ruisseaux et structure et fonctions des micro-organismes est établi.

Que racontent les échantillons déjà récoltés? Premièrement, que la vie microbienne qui s’épanouit y est riche et abondante. «Dans une cuillère à café de sédiments, on peut trouver jusqu’à un million de cellules bactériennes et des centaines d’espèces microbiennes différentes», rapporte Tom Battin. Deuxièmement, les résultats montrent qu’indépendamment de l’endroit, on retrouve plus ou moins les mêmes espèces ou groupes de micro-organismes. Une indication que ces communautés sont parfaitement adaptées à leur environnement.

Autre découverte de l’équipe, et pas des moindres: à cause des conditions extrêmes, ces populations de microbes ont des possibilités d’évolution très limitées et ont donc recours à la microévolution. «Cette microévolution a permis à cette microdiversité très spécifique, qu’on ne trouve que dans ces populations, d’évoluer», explique Tom Battin. «Comme cet environnement change, on craint que cette microévolution et cette microdiversité disparaissent et que nous perdions également une partie de la biodiversité à plus large échelle.»

Expédition en Nouvelle-Zélande © Laboratoire SBER/EPFL

Vincent De Staercke et Matteo Tolosano analysent les échantillons récoltés lors de leurs expéditions. © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Valsorey © Jamani Caillet/EPFL

Comprendre l’invisible

A l’instar du reste de la planète, l’équipe de Vanishing Glaciers doit affronter la situation complexe engendrée par la pandémie de COVID-19. Ils souhaitent toutefois pouvoir mener leurs prochaines expéditions au Népal, en Asie centrale, dans les Andes et en Alaska tout en continuant l’exploitation des données dont ils disposent. «D’ici quelques années, nous voulons être en mesure de déchiffrer le succès de la vie microbienne dans les cours d’eau des glaciers et prédire comment ces ruisseaux et leur microbiome changent alors que les glaciers qui les nourrissent disparaissent, conclut Tom Battin. Nous espérons mieux comprendre l’invisible».

Valsorey © Jamani Caillet/EPFL
Défiler vers le haut